Velo Club 167

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

2008 Awards

E-mail Print PDF

Presented at the VC167 Christmas Dinner at Lime House Restaurant York,  Saturday  13th December.

Thanks to Leo Wells for organising the dinner.

The Year


include Top Spots in :--

  • Team Award   total of 1061 top six counting total was 493; Andrew Southworth Shaun Gregory snr, Andrew Sinclair, Bob Johnson, Shaun Jnr, Mike Thompson.
  • Easter Arrow  award 3rd VC167,  2nd VC167, 1st VC167,  and John Radford making up 1/3 of 4th team                  
  • First Junior Award Shaun Gregory
  • Individual points Andrew Southworth was 3rd   
  • Mike Wigley with 27points  was in the top ten of the altitude points table
  • Andrew Sinclair was mentioned in the AUK Permanent Secretary’s annual report for another ride with George Berwick Round theCoast at 2600km was the longest UK ride this year, and the Middle Road (2200km)   from one end to the other and back again.

Beyond Audax

  • Aidan & Andy 1st tandem in Nat 24.
  • Mike Thompson did 428 miles  (688km) in Nat 24.
  • Mike was also  1st English rider home in the 1600 km Milla Miglia in Italy.

Club Tropies

Clubman of the Year   Shaun Gregory snr

Shaun joined the club at the AGM in October 2007 so 2008 was his first full year  of audax.   In this year he has ridden to No 2 in the club points list and thet total includes round the year randonneur X  2.  Not only has he ridden for the club but also he has provided support for riders in other events and I well remember 3 VC167 riders reaching the control in Lincoln after riding thr’ snow blizzards being met by a cheery face and someone to feed coins into the soup/sandwich  machines because our fingers were too numb   A worth winner of the shield.

David Saint Memorial Trophy  Andrew Southworth     137   151 points

Last year we reintroduced this trophy which had been  awarded at the VC167 10 mile which the club used to promote.   It is now awarded to the VC167 rider gaining the most AUK points during the year.

Not only has Andrew made his mark in the UK he has made it into print in France.

Margus Neron sends his hellos
“ an englishman in front carrying number 6777 its Andrew Southworth, he stops for the lights at red I slow and as it changes to green   BIP BIP I am speedy Gonzales and the British doesn’t catch me up   --  he is stopping to sleep ….

Merit Cup  Martin Newstead

New trophy last year to be presented to the VC167 member who has achieved an outstanding performance during the year.   

There was discussion as to whom this should be presented and I have to say the vote was split. I have mentioned already Mike Thompson tremendous feats on the bike but in the end the award goes to Martin Newstead.   In May Martin rode his first 100km after his bad accident in the early part of the year. And when he entered the Wiggy 100 he did say that it was touch and go as to whether he would ride.  By mid-September he did his first 300km permanentand followed that up with another in October,  and for this marvellous comeback Martin is the winner of the Merit Cup.

Last Updated on Sunday, 07 February 2010 21:33