Velo Club 167

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

2007 Awards

E-mail Print PDF

Presented at the 2007 VC 167 Christmas dinner held at Lime House Restaurant York,  Saturday 15th December.

Thanks to Leo Wells for organisation.

Highlights of the Year


  • Audax Club Riders Award  with 607 points.  Wilsden scored 473 points. The 6 counting members were:   Andrew Sinclair, Andrew Southworth, Mike Thompson,  Martin Newstead,  Graham Wanless &  Bob Johnson.
  • Audax Tandem Award to Tiho Obrenovitch and Jutta Uranjak.
  • Junior Award to Shaun Gregory Jnr.
  • West Yorks were second in the CTC riders award:  Mike Thompson, Tiho Obrenovitch, Jutta Uranjak,  Leo, Wells & John Radford.
  • Youngest ever Randonneur Round the Year:  Shaun Gregory Jnr.
  • First ever female Senior Randonneur: Ann Benton.
  • Individual Award :  Andrew Sinclair was 3rd,  Andrew Southworth 5th.
  • VC167 was second to ACF in AAA team points, with Mike Wigley 7th.

 Beyond Audax

  • Tony Liddle was 9th in National Cyclo Cross Championships.

Club Trophies

Clubman of the Year:  Nigel Hall

For promoting 5 Audax events – the Hartside, the J38, the Border Raid 600 and the Aldbrough Feast 50 & 100k – and for much of the background work in getting the North East Super Randonneur Series off the ground.

Half wheeler of the Year:  Bob Johnson 

Photo presented ---  trophy held by Graham Wanless.

David Saint Memorial Trophy:  Andrew Sinclair 151 points

Whilst riding Hell of the North in 1996 David was involved in a road traffic accident & subsequently died. The club instigated the Trophy in his memory the following year and it was awarded at the VC167 10 mile open time trial which the club used to promote.   The trophy was last awarded in 2002; it has now returned and maintaining the spirit of competition it is awarded to the VC167 rider gaining the most AUK points during the year.

Merit Cup: Shaun Gregory jnr

New trophy, presented to the VC167 member who has achieved an outstanding performance during the year.    Shaun gained 30 AUK points to be the AUK junior champion and became the youngest Randonneur Round the Year in AUK.

Last Updated on Sunday, 07 February 2010 21:33